Fr. Manning Medal

Fr. Manning Medal

The Fr. Manning Medal was inaugurated in 1966 by Fr. Jimmy McKeon to commemorate the memory of Fr. Seán Manning who was on the staff of St. Mel’s between 1933 and 1948. As St. Mel’s trainer from 1936 to 1948 he became a legend in the world of Colleges GAA, winning 11 Leinster Senior Titles in those 13 years and one All Ireland in 1948. He died in September 1964 in Dublin, a day after attending the All Ireland Final. A year later a fund was established in the College in order to give an annual award to be known as “The Father Manning Prize”.

The winning student is selected on the basis of progress at all games, for sportsmanship and an active interest shown in the common good of student life. From the beginning in 1966 the “Fr, Manning” became a prestigious and much coveted award.

From 1966 to 1974 two medals were awarded, one to a Junior Cert student and one to a Fourth Year student. From 1975 onward only one medal was awarded and always to a final year student.

Fr Manning Medal Recipients

2023 Conor Smith
2022 Diarmuid Farrell
2021 Sean O Sullivan
2020 Dario Cigliano
2019 Eoin McGuinness
2018 Dylan Smith
2017 Brian Harte
2016 Liam Barry
2015 Peter Hanley
2014 Desmond Reynolds
2013 Adrian Duffy
2012 Damien Bennett
2011 Morgan Kelly
2010 Mark Hughes
2009 John Keegan
2008 Kevin Diffley
2007 Padraic Gill
2007 Liam Mulvihill (Presented with Honorary FR. Manning Medal)
2006 Steven Ormsby
2005 David O’Connor
2004 Peter Foy
2003 Adrian Murphy
2002 Vincent Byrne
2001 Kevin Smith
2000 Michael Magan
1999 Dominic Glennon
1998 Shane Carroll
1997 Willie Skelly
1996 Brendan Burke
1995 Shane McGettigan
1994 Conor Kennelly
1993 Oliver McGuinness
1992 Edward Dervan
1991 Patrick Casey
1990 John McMullin
1989 Paul Leavy
1988 Paul Victory
1987 Martin McGlynn, Padraig O’Dowd
1986 Padraig Connerton
1985 Michael Murtagh
1984 Padraig Rodgers
1983 Frances McNamee
1982 Declan Rowley
1981 Dermot Caslin
1980 Daniel McLoughlin
1979 Vincent Quinn
1978 Frank Kennedy
1977 Jimmy Ward
1976 Philip Smith
1975 Colm Moran
1974 Nicholas McHugh, Ray Flynn
1973 Jim Murtagh, Michael Casey
1972 John Farrell, Sean Reilly
1971 Gerry Coakley, Frank Conlon
1970 Maxi Mc Grath, Joe Reynolds
1969 Brendan Muldowney, John McLoughlin
1968 Damian Brennan, Donal Fallon
1967 Michael Garrahan, Peter Burke
1966 Michael O’Rourke, Fintan Farrell

Aug 23
1st Year Students Return Half Day
Aug 26
6th Year Students Return to School
Aug 26
1st Years Half Day
Aug 27
2nd & 3rd Years Return to School
St. Mel’s Road, Longford, Co. Longford.
043 334 6469
© 2024 St. Mel's College