Senior Rugby Team win Leinster Development Cup

Longford’s St Mel’s College crowned Leinster Senior Rugby Cup Champions

Another piece of St Mel’s sporting history was made at Donnybrook Stadium on Thursday as the Longford College were crowned Leinster Senior Rugby Cup Champions

St Mel’s College . . . 20 Patrician College, Newbridge . . . 12

St Mel’s, coached by Stephen Coy Junior, beat Patrician College Newbridge in the Leinster Schools Rugby Senior Development Cup Final and led from start to finish to capture the Anne McInerney Cup.

First half tries scored by Liam Harte and Jack Magan left St Mel’s leading 10-0 at half-time but there was some anxious moments in the second half as Patrician Newbridge closed the gap to three points following a converted try.

But St Mel’s were determined not to let a famous victory slip from their grasp and after Gerard Flynn scored another try to consolidate their grip on the game, the impressive Flynn got over the line again to leave his side in a commanding 20-7 advantage.
Newbridge hit back to score a second try in the closing stages of the exciting final but mighty St Mel’s had already done enough to emerge triumphant.

ST MEL’S COLLEGE: Jack Finnegan, Daire McManus, Ben Victory, Paddy Duggan, Gerard Flynn, Liam Harte, Jack Magan, Dylan Smith, Brian Hanley, Ronan McCormack, Ivor Nevin, Peadar Kenny, Craig Gorman, David Connolly, Daire O’Brien.

Subs:- Evan Hogan, John Corcoran, Paulius Merkelis, James Ross, William Higgins, Jack Finn, Simon Moorhead, Thomas McDermott, John Sheridan, Dario Cigliano.