Student of the Year -The Mel Murtagh Cup

The Student of the Year Award was inaugurated in 2000. The Cup was presented by the family of the late Mel Murtagh who taught in St. Mel’s College for 37 years until his retirement in 1999. He is still remembered as an outstanding teacher and Deputy Principal. To be nominated, a student has to receive votes from both students and teachers. Nominees are selected each year and the eventual winner is announced at the Graduation Mass each year where the student is presented with the Mel Murtagh Cup and a cheque from the school.

Mel Murtagh Cup Recipients


2020 Luke Casserley
2019 Gary Noone
2018 Andrew Gallagher
2017 Ronan Moffett
2016 Brian Sweeney
2015 Eoin Corcoran
2014 Larry Moran
2013 Patrick Farrell
2012 Andrew Dalton
2011 Robert Yorke
2010 Ciarán Devine
2009 Matthew Smith
2008 Colin McQuade
2007 David Casserly
2006 Brendan Devine
2005 Alan Madden
2004 Sean Macken
2003 Brendan Guickan
2002 Declan Gilhooley
2001 Kevin Murtagh
2000 Emmett Lee
St. Mel’s Road, Longford, Co. Longford.
043 334 6469
© 2022 St. Mel's College