Mel Murtagh Student of the Year Cup

The Student of the Year Award was inaugurated in 2000. The Cup was presented by the family of the late Mel Murtagh who taught in St. Mel’s College for 37 years until his retirement in 1999. He is still remembered as an outstanding teacher and Deputy Principal. To be nominated, a student has to receive votes from both students and teachers. Nominees are selected each year and the eventual winner is announced at the Graduation Mass each year where the student is presented with the Mel Murtagh Cup and a cheque from the school.

Mel Murtagh Cup  Recipients

2020        Luke Casserley

2019        Gary Noone

2018       Andrew Gallagher

2017       Ronan Moffett

2016       Brian Sweeney

2015       Eoin Corcoran

2014       Larry Moran

2013       Patrick Farrell

2012       Andrew Dalton

2011       Robert Yorke

2010       Ciarán Devine

2009       Matthew Smith

2008       Colin McQuade

2007       David Casserly

2006       Brendan Devine

2005       Alan Madden

2004       Sean Macken

2003       Brendan Guickan

2002       Declan Gilhooley

2001       Kevin Murtagh

2000       Emmett Lee