Fr. Manning Medal

Fr. Manning Medal

The Fr. Manning Medal was inaugurated in 1966 by Fr. Jimmy McKeon to commemorate the memory of Fr. Seán Manning who was on the staff of St. Mel’s between 1933 and 1948. As St. Mel’s trainer from 1936 to 1948 he became a legend in the world of Colleges GAA, winning 11 Leinster Senior Titles in those 13 years and one All Ireland in 1948. He died in September 1964 in Dublin, a day after attending the All Ireland Final. A year later a fund was established in the College in order to give an annual award to be known as “The Father Manning Prize”.

The winning student is selected on the basis of progress at all games, for sportsmanship and an active interest shown in the common good of student life. From the beginning in 1966 the “Fr, Manning” became a prestigious and much coveted award.

From 1966 to 1973 two medals were awarded, one to a Junior Cert student and one to a Fourth Year student. From 1974 onward only one medal was awarded and always to a final year student.


Fr Manning Medal Recipients

2020      Dario Cigliano

2019      Euan Finneran

2018      Dylan Smith

2017      Brian Harte

2016      Liam Barry

2015      Peter Hanley

2014      Desmond Reynolds

2013       Adrian Duffy

2012       Damien Bennett

2011       Morgan Kelly

2010       Mark Hughes

2009       John Keegan

2008       Kevin Diffley

2007       Padraic Gill

2007        Liam Mulvihill (Presented with Honorary FR. Manning Medal)

2006       Steven Ormsby

2005       David O’Connor

2004       Peter Foy

2003       Adrian Murphy

2002       Vincent Byrne

2001       Kevin Smith

2000       Michael Magan

1999       Dominic Glennon

1998       Shane Carroll

1997       Willie Skelly

1996        Brendan Burke

1995        Shane McGettigan

1994        Conor Kennelly

1993        Oliver McGuinness

1992        Edward Dervan

1991         Patrick Casey

1990         John McMullin

1989        Paul Leavy

1988        Paul Victory

1987        Martin McGlynn
Padraig O’Dowd

1986        Padraig Connerton

1985        Michael Murtagh

1984       Padraig Rodgers

1983       Frances McNamee

1982       Declan Rowley

1981        Dermot Caslin

1980       Daniel McLoughlin

1979       Vincent Quinn

1978       Frank Kennedy

1977       Jimmy Ward

1976       Philip Smith

1975       Colm Moran

1974       Nicholas McHugh
Ray Flynn

1973        Jim Murtagh
Michael Casey

1972       John Farrell
Sean Reilly

1971        Gerry Coakley
Frank Conlon

1970       Maxi Mc Grath
Joe Reynolds

1969       Brendan Muldowney
John McLoughlin

1968      Damian Brennan
Donal Fallon

1967       Michael Garrahan
Peter Burke

1966       Michael O’Rourke
Fintan Farrell