Awards Day 2015

Our annual awards ceremony was held on Tuesday 19th May. It was a day to recognise the achievements of you our students in the sporting, social and academic fields of our college life.

We would like to thank Past Pupils Peter Dolan and Joe Flynn of Spirit Clothing for their very generous sponsorship of these awards.


The awards began with presentations to the members of the Student Council and Prefects in recognition for all their work in the school

Student Council

Student Council 2014-15

Student Council 2014-15

Colin Cousins

Paulis Merkelis

Ronan Moffett

Joseph Farrell

Larry Wyse

Jamie Mulligan

1st year prefects

1st year prefects


1st Year Prefects

Eric Ehigie

James Moran

Denis Sutov

Patrick Loughlin

2nd Year Prefects

2nd year prefects

2nd year prefects

Cian O’Nuallain

Liam Morgan

Barry O’Brien

3rd Year Prefects

Dean Fitzmaurice

Paddy Duggan

3rd year prefects

3rd year prefects

Niall Flynn

Lorcan O’Brien

4th Year Prefects

Eoin Cousins

Fergal Farrell

5th Year Prefects

Ciaran Earley

4th year prefects

4th year prefects

Michael Hughes

Robbie Clarke

Darragh Doherty

6th Year Prefects

Ciaran O’Boyle

Daniel Kirby

Mark Mulleady

Eoin Corcoran

5th year prefects

5th year prefects

6th year prefects

6th year prefects


Students who have missed no day in the past academic year received a college certificate confirming their 100% attendance.

1st Year


1st years with 100% attendance

Eric Ehigie

Michael Krawiec

Isaac Abankwah

William Stupinsky

Denis Sutov

Evangel Tuyogon

Cian Murphy

Cian Dooner

Ciaran Bracken

2nd Years


2nd years with 100% attendance

Jack Oates

Michael McCann

Godwin Yeboah

Gavin Mulhern

Ronan Kenny

Barry O’Brien

Gary Noone

Patrick O’Boyle

Diarmuid O’Sheehan

3rd  Year


3rd years with 100% attendance

Mark Masterson

Ronan Moffett

Jack Carey

Emmet Igoe

Ivor Nevin

4th Year


4th Years with 100% attendance

Daire O Muiri

Raymond Raleigh

Pauric Halpin

5th Year

Ciaran Earley

Oisin Mac An Bheatha

6th Year


Leaving Certs with 100% attendance

James Ward

Matthew Valentine

Ryan Moffett

Daniel Kirby

Attendance Special Awards

There were three special awards in the Attendance category.

The first two went to two students who have missed no day in their Junior Certificate years, that is, since September 2012. The Students were Mark Masterson and Ronan Moffett.

The next award went to a student who had missed no day in their entire five years in St. Mel’s College, that is since September 2010. An outstanding achievement for James Ward.


James Ward, who has not missed a day in his 5 years pictured with his year head Mr McWeeney


Ronan Moffett and Mark Masterson who have not missed a day in 3 years pictured with their year head Ms Laffan

Academic Awards

Best Junior Certificate Award

The Best Junior Certificate 2014 award went to Pauric Halpin


Winner of the Geraldine McManus Cup for best Junior Cert is Pauric Halpin

Art Award

This year an Art award was presented to Umar Sarfrez  for his contribution to the school especially in the St. Patrick’s day Parade


Umar Sarfrez


150th Celebrations

For his involvement in the 150th celebrations especially at the New Year’s Eve Ball, Darragh Quinn received an award.


Darragh Quinn

Science Awards

A group of students came 1st and 3rd in the Irish Science Teachers Association Quiz regional finals. First prize went to David Sheehan, Eoin Corciran and Andrius Vaicaitis. 3rd prize went to James Ward, Keelan Murphy and Ethan Pyper.


1st Place Science Quiz team pictured with Ms Dolan


3rd Place Science Quiz team pictured with Ms Dolan

Language Awards

This was the first year a language award was presented to students who have excelled this year in languages. The awards went to Luke Casserly in 1st year, Gary Noone in 2nd year and Niall Farrelly in 3rd year.


Language Awards

Sports Awards


This year the swimming award went to the under 14 relay team that enjoyed success winning bronze in both the freestyle and the medley relay. The team was Tadhg McNiven, Ronan Kenny, Mark O’Boyle and Daniel Kurkin.


U14 relay swimming team

School By Pass Challenge

Awards were given to the first students over the finish line. They were Jamie Mulligan (21:30) Shane Maguire (22:00) and Liam Morgan (22:07)


Winners of the By Pass Challenge


Basketball Player of the Year award is Colin Farrell.


Most Improved Junior Player was Peadar Kenny

Team Player of the Year is Sean Mc Manus

Players Player of the Year is Ronan Moffett

Junior Rugby Player of the Year is Liam Harte

Senior Rugby Player of the Year is Eoin Corcoran

A special presentation was made to Paddy Duggan for being selected for the Leinster under 17 team.


Most Improved Rugby Player of the year


Rugby Junior Player of the Year


Rugby Team Player of the Year


Rugby Players Player of the Year



U-15 Soccer Player of the Year was Owen Grey

U-17 Soccer Player of the Year was Ramzan Skrypta

U-19 Soccer Player of the Year was Konrad Kaszycki

Soccer achievement award went to Aodh Dervin


Senior Soccer Player of the Year


U17 Soccer Player of the Year


Soccer Achievement Award


U15 Player of the Year


Senior Athlete of the Year was Niall Nearney


Athlete of the Year

Outstanding Sporting Achievement Award

This year the Outstanding Sporting Achievement Award went to Eoin Corcoran who has brought pride to himself, his family, St. Mel’s College and Longford Rugby Club for having been selected for Leinster and capped for Ireland at under 19 level.


Outstanding Sporting Achievement Award

Gaelic Football Awards

The First Year Player of the Year is Dylan Reilly

The U-14 player of the year is Diarmuid Sheehan

The U- 16 player of the year is Daniel Conell

The Senior Footballer of the Year is Cillian Lee

The Player Most Dedicate to Training is Michael Lynch


Senior Footballer of the Year


Most Dedicated to Training


U16 Footballer of the Year


U14 and 1st Year Footballers of the Year

Fr Manning Medal

The Fr. Manning Medal Winner this year was Peter Hanley


Fr Manning Medal Winner